SSC CGL Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2020-21: Exam Pattern

Staff Selection Commission of India is going to conduct SSC CGL 2020-21 Exam in four stages: Tier-1, Tier-2, Tier-3 & Tier-4 exam. While Tier-I & Tier-II exam will be carried out online, Tier-III will be conducted in pen and paper mode and Tier-IV will be a computer skill test.

Let's discuss the detailed exam pattern for all the TIER’S of SSC CGL 2020-21 Recruitment process.

Click here to join SSC CGL Online Coaching

SSC Exam Calendar 2020-21 released, check exam dates here

Check Full List of Top Upcoming Government Exams & Jobs

1)      Tier -I:- Written Examination (Multiple Choice- Computer Based Test).
2)      Tier -II:-  Written Examination (Multiple Choice- Computer Based Test).
3)      Tier -III: – Descriptive Test (Pen and Paper Mode).
4)      Tier -IV: – Data Entry Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test (if applicable)

This is good for preparing to make a note of SSC CGL Exam Pattern, before starting the exam SSC CGL preparation.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2020 for Tier 1 & 2 is given below:

  • SSC CGL 2020 Tier 1 and Tier 2 exam will be held online.
  • A descriptive paper will comprise of 100 marks with time duration of 60 minutes in pen and paper mode.
  •  No sectional cut off will be observed.

Category wise minimum qualifying marks in Tier-I, each Paper of Tier-II and Tier-III Examination are given below:



1. SSC CGL 2020 Tier I Examination

It comprises of Objective type or multiple choice questions with maximum marks of 200 marks to be attempted in period of 1hr.

The exam scheme of SSC CGL 2020-21  is given below:

Name of the subject
No. of questions
Max. marks

Time duration

General Intelligence & Reasoning

1 Hours

General Awareness
Numerical Aptitude
English Comprehension

 Penalty for incorrect response:

SSC will follow negative marking of 1/4 Marks for each wrong answer. There will not be any sectional cut off. No marks will be deducted if the question is left blank or un-attempted by an applicant. The exam duration for visually handicapped Person is 80 minutes.

 2.SSC CGL 2020 Tier II Examination

SSC CGL TIER-II exam is also a multiple-choice objective paper, but not like Tier I, and is conducted in a period of two days. For all posts, exclusive of that connected to Assistant Audit officer and Statistical Investigator, there are only two tests specifically Quantitative Abilities and English Language. After Tier II test, the merit is prepared on the basis of the aggregate marks scored in Tier I and Tier II by the contestants.

The scheme of this test is given below in a table:

Max. Marks/ Questions
Arithmetical Ability
200 (100 Questions)
English Language & Comprehension
200 (200 Questions)
200 (100 Questions)
Finance & Accounting
80 (40 Questions)
Economics & Governance
120 (60 Questions)

 Penalty for wrong answer

There will be negative marking of 1/4 for ever incorrect answer. There will not be any sectional cut off. No point will be taken away if the question is left blank by an applicant. For visually handicapped Person, the exam duration is 2 hours 40 minutes.


  • In Tier-II, Paper-I and Paper-II are necessary for all the posts.
  • In Tier-II, the candidates who have applied for the post of Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) can apply besides candidates who are shortlisted in Tier-II for this Post/Paper.
  • In Tier-II, Paper-IV will be applicable for the candidates who are shortlisted in Tier-I for Paper-IV i.e. for the posts of Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer.

3. SSC CGL 2020 Tier III Examination

SSC CGL Tier-III is conducted in the format of a descriptive examination.  The examination comprises of essay and letter writing on India’s current issues and topics. Tier-III, a descriptive test is conducted in English/Hindi and comprises of 100 marks. The duration of the examination is 60 minutes (1 hour).

Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application etc.)
100 marks
1 hour or 60 minutes

Tier-I, Tier-II & Tier-III exam is mandatory for all posts mentioned in the SSC CGL 2019 Notification.

4.SSC CGL 2020 Tier IV Examination

The candidates qualifying Tier-I and Tier-II successfully are applicable to appear in Tier-III. In this Tier, SSC measures and examines Computer Proficiency Test/ Skills for the selected posts (SSC would name those posts in the upcoming notification). This round of selection is also meant for document verification for all the selected candidates.

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam is a Computer Skill Test and is conducted in two steps: DEST Test & CPT Test.

DEST:- The selected candidates are required to type 2000 words in 15 minutes on a computer in English. This objective of this test is to check candidate's writing skills.

CPT:-  In this test, candidate's proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets and Generation of Slides are checked and examined. 

Exam Pattern SSC CGL Tier 4
Skill Test
For the post of
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)
Assistant Section Officer in CSS, MEA & AFHQ, Assistant in Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO) under the Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Assistant (GSI) in the Ministry of Mines, Inspector (Central Excise), Inspector (Preventive Officer) & Inspector (Examiner) in CBIC.
Tax Assistant (CBDT & CBEC)

Document Verification: The concluding step for the final selection would be Document Verification.

Final Selection

The final selection would be on the basis of the candidate’s performance in Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3. Recruitment will on the basis of  the applicant’s marks, rank achieved and their post inclination.