Railway Exam

Apr 17, 2019 - 12:05

About Railway Exams

All over India there are 18 zones and 68 divisions (under those 18 zones) in Indian Railways. South Coast Railway zone is the newest zone in India. Each division is managed by Divisional Railway Manager (DRM).

The Indian railways function on the base structure of every division which has technical and non-technical departments.

Technical departments constitute civil, Electricle and mechanical engineering, signaling and telecom, and many others dealing with similar disciplines. On the other hand, the non-technical departments constitute general services such as Accounts, Personnel Management, Railway Protection Force (RPF) or Security and Traffic Services.  There are four types of group level jobs. They are Group A and Group B (Gazetted) and Group C and D (Non-gazetted).

Group A

Group A Posts Recruitment:UPSC does the recruitment for this category by conducting a written exam, interview/group discussion as necessary.
Exams conducted for this category : Civil Service Exam, Engineering Service Exam, and Combined Medical Service Examination.

Through the civil services exam, the following services are included:

  1. Indian Railway Accounts Service
  2. Indian Railway Traffic Service
  3. Indian Railway Personnel Service
  4. Railway Protection Force (RPF)

Through the Combined Engineering Services Exam, the following services are included.

  1. Indian Railway Stores Service
  2. Indian Railway Service of Engineers
  3. Railway service of Signal Engineers
  4. Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers
  5. Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers

Group B
All vacancies in Group ‘B’ are filled by a promotion on the basis of selection from eligible Group ‘C employees. 70 per cent of the vacancies are filled by seniority cum suitability and 30 per cent by examination. Nearly 70 per cent of the vacancies in Group B posts are made through promotion. Such promotions are made in the strict order of placement on the panel recommended by the Selection Board. But some posts require exams. 30 per cent of the vacancies are filled through Limited Departmental Competitive Examination.
Group C
Group C officers are recruited through the Railway Recruitment Board (RRB). The 19 Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) have been functioning as chief recruiting agencies for all Zonal Railways, Production Units and other extra Zonal units of the Indian Railways.Each Railway Recruitment Board is dealing with the recruitment needs of the specified jurisdiction on the Railways. However, there is no regional or linguistic distinction for recruitment to any post as per as eligibility of the candidates  is  concerned.  Any citizen of India fulfilling the recruitment criteria can compete for any post without any regional or linguistic limitations. Group C Posts Recruitment:The Group C posts both technical and non technical recruitment are conducted by 19 Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) across all zones in Indian Railways. 
Non Technical Posts: Some of the Non-Technical posts are Assistant Station Masters, Trains Clerks, Clerks, Ticket Collectors, Commercial Apprentice, Traffic Apprentice and others. 
Technical Posts: Technical engineers in Signal, Telecommunication, Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and others.

Group D Level 1:  

Group D Posts Recruitment:The Group D recruitment is done by Railway Recruitment Cell (RRC) at the divisional level. Some of posts in this group are the gunman, Safaiwala, Trackman, peon, tracker and others. Railway RRC Group D Level 1 Recruitment 2019 will be held to recruit 1,03,769 vacancies for the posts of Track Maintainer Grade-IV, Helper/Assistant in various technical departments (Electrical, Mechanical and S&T departments), Assistant Pointsman , Level-I posts in other departments of Indian Railways. Railway Recruitment Board conducts RRC Group D Level 1, RRB NTPC and other railway examinations giving candidates a golden opportunity to fulfill their dream of joining the prestigious Government Sector (Indian Railways) in India.

Open in app arrow