Top 10 Bureaucrats in India

Top 10 Bureaucrats in India


Top 10 Bureaucrats in India

India is one of the world’s most successful and powerful democracies. Our democracy relies on its extensive bureaucratic framework for its functioning. Let’s take a look at India’s 10 most powerful bureaucrats. They are responsible for shaping the present and future of our nation. All of them are highly efficient hard-working professionals in the area of their expertise. Another thing in common in this elite class of bureaucrats is that the UPSC examination. Most of them have an excellent service record with a long tenure as IAS, IPS, IFS, and IRS officers.

The top 10 Bureaucrats in India are:

1. Girish Chandra Murmu

Girish Chandra Murmu is the 14th Comptroller and Auditor General of India and the external auditor of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. He is also the chairman of the United Nations Panel of External Auditors and the Asian Organization of Supreme Audit Institutions.

2. N. K. Singh

On 27 November 2017, the Modi government appointed N. K. Singh as the chairman of the Fifteenth Finance Commission of India. He is currently the Chairman of the review committee set up under the Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management Act, 2003, under the purview of the Ministry of Finance, Government of India.

3. Krishnamurthy Venkata Subramanian

Krishnamurthy Venkata Subramanian (born May 5, 1971) is an Indian economist and the current Chief Economic Adviser to the Government of India (CEA), officially being appointed to the position on 7 December 2018. The post of CEA was vacant for over five months since the 16th CEA, Arvind Subramanian, left due to personal reasons in June 2018, having occupied the position for a few months more than the usual term of three years.

4. Sanjay Kothari 

Sanjay Kothari is the chief of the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC). The central vigilance commissioner is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the selection committee consisting of the prime minister as its chairperson and the home minister and the Leader of the opposition in Lok Sabha, as its members.

5. Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha

Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha was sworn in as Central Information Commissioner on January 1, 2019. In October 2020, he has been selected to be the Chief Information Commissioner of India. The Central Information Commission is a statutory body, set up under the Right to Information Act in 2005 under the Government of India to act upon complaints from those individuals who have not been able to submit information requests to a Central Public Information Officer or State Public Information Officer due to either the officer not have been appointed, or because the respective Central Assistant Public Information Officer or State Assistant Public Information Officer refused to receive the application for information under the Right to Information Act.

6. Ajay Tyagi

Ajay Tyagi was appointed as chairman of SEBI on 10 February 2017, replacing U K Sinha, and took charge of the chairman's office on 1 March 2017. In February 2020, his term as chairman of SEBI was extended by another six months.

7. Sushil Chandra

Sushil Chandra (born 15 May 1957) is a 1980 batch Indian Revenue Service officer. He is the current and 24th Chief Election Commissioner of India. This power of the Election Commission of India is derived from Article 324 of the Constitution of India.

8. Arun Kumar Mishra

Arun Kumar Mishra (born 3 September 1955) is the current and eighth Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission of India. He is the former Judge of the Supreme Court of India. He is former Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court and Rajasthan High Court. He has also served as Acting Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court. He is also a former Judge of Madhya Pradesh High Court.

9. G. Satheesh Reddy

G Satheesh Reddy is the Secretary of the Department of Defence R&D and Chairman of India’s Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) which spearheads India’s indigenous development of defence systems and technologies. He guides the development of major programs on missiles and strategic systems, fighter aircraft and unmanned aerial defence systems, underwater systems, radar systems, strategic materials, armaments, and futuristic technologies.

10 Pradeep Kumar Joshi

Pradeep Kumar Joshi is a former Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer, 1972 batch, of the Haryana cadre, who served as Defence Secretary, in the Ministry of Defence, Government of India, for a term of two years, from August 2009 to July 2011. He is the current Chairperson of the Union Public Service Commission ( UPSC).

8 likes | 0 comment
Like Comment Share
IBT's Classroom Study Materials
Bank & SSC All Exam

200+ hours Classes I Class Assignments

Classes by IBT Experts

Buy Now